Review | Hereafter by Tara Hudson (Hereafter, #1)

Reviewer: Ali
Release Date: April 30th 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Age Group: YA
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 432 (paperback)
Format/Source: Paperback, purchased myself.

Find the Book: Goodreads | ChapersIndigo | Book Depository

Rating: 2/5

Can there truly be love after death?

Drifting in the dark waters of a mysterious river, the only thing Amelia knows for sure is that she’s dead. With no memories of her past life, she’s trapped alone in a nightmarish existence. But everything changes when she tries to rescue a boy from drowning in the river. Because even though she can’t do anything to help, Amelia somehow wills him to survive. And when he wakes up, Joshua can see her.

Together, Joshua and Amelia begin to uncover the strange circumstances of her death, and the secrets of the dark river that has held her captive. But even as they grow ever closer, there are those in both worlds—the living and the dead—determined to tear them apart. . . .

This book is sadly forgettable. Although I like the characters (despite their lack of depth) and the plot itself, there is simply too much filler and too many missing pieces. I mean, who doesn’t love a story where there is a forbidden relationship! Especially one that brings you back to watching ‘Ghost’ with Patrick Swayze and Demi Moore. With this book though, I didn’t have any of those ‘AHHHHHH’ moments where I desperately wanted more.

I find that the author Tara Hudson awed me with some of her descriptions but they soon became repetitive and pointless.The same can be said about the relationship of the main characters. In the beginning I became very intrigued by the relationship between Amelia and Joshua but about halfway through I just kept finding the same results. When the relationship is becoming tense, serious or emotional in anyway she would disappear and take you on a journey that meant nothing to the development of the story. I kept hoping that they were loose ends that would be all tied up by the end of the series … if you ever made it there.

Amelia, is a ghost I guess you could say, but has very little memory of her life before her death. As the story goes forward she starts to get flashbacks and little memories that help her piece together parts of her old life. However, some of these memories come from out of nowhere and were never really explained. This felt really odd for me as a reader since it was hard to see how the information was relevant.

Joshua is a teen boy and has a pretty normal life until he had a near death experience. Amelia saved his life and they discover that they are both drawn to each other.

I guess I am not totally disappointed in the book but I am not sending mad flurries of texts and emails telling everyone to read it either. Let’s face it, I am going to read Arise (the second book in the series) not solely because I already own it but because I am really hoping this gets better! There is so much potential for this to be amazing! I am hoping the story gets a little bit more action and Hudson strives for a better connection between the characters. PLEASE DON’T DISAPPOINT ME!

Leave a Reply

