Review | The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (The Winner’s Trilogy, #1)

Reviewer: Alyssa
Release Date: March 4, 2014
Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux
Age Group: Young Adult
Genres: Science Fiction, Dystopia
Pages: 355 (Paperback)
Format/Source: Paperback, purchased
Find the Book: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

As I write this review, I am mildly worried that Christina may attempt to murder me, since she is an absolute fan of this book. I was converted partly because of her aggressive Tumblr reblogs, and I was so convinced I would fall head over heels for this book. It has all of my favourite components: a thrilling plot, compelling main characters, and richly layered world-building. But there was something missing.

I picked this book up and planned to read the first few chapters before going to sleep. Somehow I found myself finishing the book well past midnight. From the very first chapter, The Winner’s Curse captures your attention and takes it on a gripping marathon. This well-paced roller coaster ride is filled with twists and turns and emotional loss. The masterful use of dual-POV keeps you half a step before the characters as you fear for them, but half a step too late to truly see the imminent disaster.

The characters, too, are wonderfully three-dimensional. Kestrel struggles between her father’s ultimatum — enlisting in the army when her strength lies in strategy, or marrying a Valorian man she does not love. Kestrel is very much her own person, but at the same time she is so very human. For one, we have her love of music when YA protagonists so rarely have hobbies; for another, even as she becomes disillusioned with her own country, she never truly turns her back on a culture which has raised her. She cares for the people around her, and this humanises her so we can empathise.

Arin, the other POV character, is so broken you just want to give him a hug. But at the same time, his rebellion against the Valorian shows that he’s put himself together and the slavery and oppression have only honed his determination. At the same time, the chemistry between the two slowly develop, and even though it’s on the back cover blurb, you don’t quite notice how far it’s gone until you find yourself unable to ship either of them with anyone else.

And the world-building. Dear me, the world-building. The separate cultures of the Valorian and the Herrani are so carefully sculpted. Neither culture is straight-out evil, and it’s amazingly in-depth. The game of Bite and Sting is a lovely break from all the fancily-named chess games in other fantasies, and the duel of Needles, wherein opponents have six throwing knives to wound the other with, was so captivating and ended up being one of the most thrilling parts of the book.

So why am I not squealing over this book? First, even though the main characters were well-developed, I can’t really say the same for the secondary characters. They all have shortcomings and strengths and goals, but I don’t understand their motivations and their fears. The entire story revolves around the will of the two main characters, which although effective in making me turn the pages, means that I am apathetic towards the secondary characters which in effect represent the rest of the community. I have a penchant for gripping secondary characters, and this book fell a little short there.

And secondly, it ended a little too well. When I closed the book, I had all the feels and the entire plot was tied off beautifully. But that’s just the thing — I accepted Kestrel’s and Arin’s ending, and I was completely and totally satisfied with the book ending there. I’m sure others will feel differently, but because The Winner’s Curse tied up all loose ends within the book and the ending is one I’m happy with, I will not be picking up The Winner’s Crime.

That said, I do not regret for one moment picking up The Winner’s Curse. It was a heartrending clash of morality and betrayal and forbidden love, and the best book I’ve read so far in 2015.

One thought on “Review | The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (The Winner’s Trilogy, #1)

Leave a comment